Four Fishing Communities
In 1796 the land which Buchanhaven now stands on was part of the lands of Blackhouse and was sold to James Ferguson of Pitfour. He established a fishing village which was formally laid out in the 1820′s. It was originally 3 streets and a school and was a fishing community separate from Peterhead.1850 saw new development at the harbour. Two new piers were planned but only one was built. By 1859 it was a flourishing fishing community and the boats came in daily, laden with haddock caught not far from the shore. Buchanhaven became one of the most successful fishing communities on the coast. Sadly, with the development of bigger and bigger boats, the harbour at Buchanhaven could no longer accommodate the industry, and local skippers were forced to use the harbour Peterhead. A few boats do still operate from Buchanhaven, mainly small creel boats. The tradition of fishing may be diminished, but the spirit and independence of the community will ensure that the settlement maintains its own unique identity.
There are two suggestions about the origin of the name Buchanhaven. It could be a Gaelic name from the Picts or Celts meaning temporary place of cattle. However other people believe it is a Norse Viking name (Buc Ten Haven) which means a safe place across the bay.
The beach just beyond Buchanhaven is the perfect place for a quite seaside stroll, with views out towards St Fergus and the mouth of the River Ugie. In summer, children paddle, build sandcastles, and explore the rock pools. Peterhead may no longer be a Spa town, but there are still plenty of opportunities to relax and enjoy the coast.